Tuesday, June 09, 2009

Who to write in the NC State Legislature re: slashing Mental Health services

Dear Appropriations Chairs & Mr. Hackney, Speaker of the NC House:(Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net, Alma.Adams@ncleg.net , Martha.Alexander@ncleg.net , Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net , Phillip.Haire@ncleg.net , Maggie.Jeffus@ncleg.net , Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net , Douglas.Yongue@ncleg.net , Joe.Hackney@ncleg.net

As you well know, your duty is to appropriate money for expenditures concerning citizens of NC. It is undoubtedly a very difficult job. Moreover, it is currently more difficult than usual. And we realize that there is an election coming up in two years. However, please bear in mind that the country is experiencing a wave of Democratic candidates in office. Besides this, ‘doing the right thing’ should, I hope, be more important than getting re-elected-----if that is your fear.

As a clinical psychologist, I work mostly with Medicare & Medicaid clients in western NC. To say that my clients are indigent would be a vast understatement.

I would like to speak specifically to the usefulness of Community Support Services for my Medicaid clients. This psychologist utilizes time w/ my clients to deal with intrapsychic issues which impede their ability to improve.

If you remove CSS, what we will then have to deal with will be an endless list of things like: 1. how to get to the doctor’s appointments 2. how to get food on the table 3. how to get a part time job.

I cannot do it all. I ask you to consider very carefully the impact of CSS service cuts on this population.

Sincerely, Marsha V. Hammond, PhD


Post a Comment

<< Home